T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh accuse Virat Kohli of ‘fake fielding’ | Cricket News


MELBOURNE: Bangladesh’s wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan insinuated that India should have been penalized five runs during the nerve-wracking, rain-hit match against Bangladesh in Adelaide Wednesday night due to an incident of ‘fake fieldwork‘ committed by Virat Kohli.
The umpires on the field, Hasan claimed, missed the incident. India ended up winning by a margin of five runs via the D/L method.
The incident took place in the seventh over of Bangladesh’s innings, minutes before the rain break, when Litton Das sent an Axar Patel delivery into the offside. As Arshdeep Singh bowled the ball from the deep to the wicket-keeper, Kohli, standing at the back end, pretended to throw the throw to the
place non-striker’s end.

The referees on the field, Chris Brown and Marais Erasmus, either did not see the incident or decided to let it slide. Bangladeshi batsmen Das and Najmo Hussain Shanto also failed to make it under the umpires.
Asked if the ground was wet and not suitable for batting after the resumption of play, especially in the context of Litton Das slipping twice, Nurul said in Bengali: “You could also see the ground was wet. and we could see too. Finally, there was also a false throw. It could have been a five-run penalty. It could have gone our way too, but it didn’t.”
According to Law 41.5, which was introduced in 2017, “it is unfair for any fielder to intentionally, by word or action, attempt to distract, deceive or obstruct any of the batsmen after the striker has received the ball.”
In such cases the umpire has the discretion to declare a ‘dead’ ball and award the batting team five runs.

The game also featured a few other refereeing incidents.
Kohli pointed out in the 16th over of India’s innings that Bangladesh bowler Hasan Mahmud had bowled his second bouncer of the over. Umpire Erasmus immediately declared a no ball, leading to a midfield conference between Kohli and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan with the umpires looking on.
When the call was taken to reduce play to a 16-over match and give Bangladesh a revised target, Shakib was seen in animated conversation with the umpires, even showing them how wet the outfield was even as India’s captain, Rohit Sharma, was seen repeatedly. shook his head.

When play resumed, Litton Das slipped twice, and the game slipped away from Bangladesh’s grasp as well. Asked if he tried hard to convince the umpires not to play so early, Shakib cryptically said, “Did we really have any option? Do I have the ability to convince the referees?”
Finally, Shakib said: “It was a bit slippery. Normally it suits the batting side rather than the bowling side. We shouldn’t make that an excuse.”
India take on Zimbabwe next Sunday in their final league match at the MCG.


Source link

Leave a Comment