Shubman Gill’s maiden T20 ton powers Punjab to Mushtaq Ali Trophy semi-semi-series | Cricket News


KOLKATA: Shubman Gill celebrated his T20I call-up for the New Zealand tour in style, smashing his first century in the format as Punjab defeated Karnataka by nine runs in the Syed. Mushtaq Ali Trophy quarterfinals Monday.
Batting till the last ball of the penultimate over, the opener top scored with a career-best 126 in Punjab’s 225 for four.

In reply, the two-time champions and last season’s runners-up put up a fight before being restricted to 216 for six. Punjab will face Himachal Pradesh in the first semi-final at Eden Gardens on Thursday.
Earlier, the 23-year-old Gill, who is all set for a T20I debut in the upcoming New Zealand tour, made a big statement.
Taking full advantage of a reprieve by Karnataka gloveman Luvnith Sisodia on 34, Gill fired his way to a 30-ball 50, then completed the century in 49 balls.
In all, he smashed 11 fours and nine sixes during a knock that was a mix of artistry and aggression.
Punjab got off to a shaky start as they lost Abhishek Sharma and Prabhsimran Singh early, but after that it was all about Gill.
The youngster put on a 151-run partnership with Anmolpreet Singh (59 off 43 b) as they reached 161 in 16 overs.
Gill continued in the same vein with Sanvir Singh giving him good support with a brisk 27 not out from 13 balls.
Veteran Manish Pandey lifted Karnataka from 18/3 with a 29-ball 45, and then Abhinav Manohar kept them in the hunt with a 29-ball 62 not out.
Manoj Bhandage smashed 25 off 9 balls, while Manohar and Krishnappa Gowtham (30 not out; 14b) reduced the tally to 38 off the last two overs.
But Siddarth Kaul and Harpreet Brar held their nerve to secure a win for Punjab.
Dhawan falls for 37 as Vidarbha knocking out Delhi
Delhi fell just one run short in a tough chase of 158 to be knocked out by Vidarbha in a second quarter-final at the Jadavpur University second campus ground in Salt Lake.
It was Yash Thakur who was the architect of their victory as he bowled a perfect final over to dismiss Lalit Yadav (17) and Lakshya Thareja (4) in three balls to swing the match in their favour.
Vidarbha take on Mumbai in the second semi-final at the Eden.
Chasing 157, Delhi needed 26 off the last two overs and scored 16 from veteran Indian pacer Umesh Yadav.
In the last over, Thakur picked up two wickets.
Earlier, Dhawan, who was named India’s ODI captain for the New Zealand tour, got off to a flying start when he shared a 48-run stand with Himmat Singh (27).
But Singh became Thakur’s first victim as Dhawan was dismissed by Aditya Sarwate (2/16) in the ninth over as Vidarbha continued to take wickets at regular intervals.
Vidarbha scored 157 for five with captain Akshay Wadkar leading the way in a 53-ball 63.
Bengal out, fail to defend 200 against Himachal
Bengal suffered a four-wicket loss against Himachal Pradesh in another thrilling last-eight clash.
Shahbaz Ahmed top-scored for Bengal in a 32-ball 59 to propel them to 199 for six.
In reply, Himachal’s Akash Vasisht smashed an unbeaten 76 off 42 balls, while Nikhil Gangta scored 50 off 37 deliveries to secure a last-ball victory.
Mumbai next to Saurashtra
Shreyas Iyer top score for Mumbai with a 30-ball 40 while Shivam Dube came up with 25 not out from 13 balls as Mumbai sealed a two-wicket win against Saurashtra.
Prerak Mankad’s explosive 25-ball 61, studded with seven fours and three sixes, propelled Saurashtra to 166 for eight.
In reply, Mumbai lost two wickets inside the showdown and skipper Ajinkya Rahane also failed to change his start. But Dube held on to complete the chase with three balls to spare.
Chetan Sakariya (4/33) and Kushang Patel (2/33) were the most successful bowlers.
Short scores:
At Eden Gardens: Punjab 225/4; 20 overs (Shubman Gill 126, Anmolpreet Singh 59; Vidwath Kaverappa 3/44) b Karnataka 216/6; 20 overs (Abhinav Manohar 62 not out, Manish Pandey 45; Ramandeep Singh 2/26) by nine runs.
Saurashtra 166/8; 20 overs (Prerak Mankad 61; Tushar Deshpande 3/37, Mohit Avashti 2/23) lost to Mumbai 168/8; 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 40, Shivam Dube 25 not out; Chetan Sakariya 4/33, Kushang Patel 2/33) with two wickets.
At JU Second Campus: Vidarbha 157/5; 20 overs (Akshay Wadkar 63) b Delhi 156/6; 20 overs (Yash Dhull 39 not out, Shikhar Dhawan 37; Yash Thakur 4/29) by one run.
At Videocon Academy: Bengal 199/6; 20 overs (Shahbaz Ahmed 59; Kanwar Abhinay 4/47, Rishi Dhawan 2/40) lost to Himachal Pradesh 200/6; 20 overs (Akash Vasisht 76 not out, Nikhil Gangta 50; Ravi Kumar 2/29) with four wickets.
Semi Finals: Punjab vs Himachal Pradesh; Vidarbha vs Mumbai (Thursday at Eden Gardens).


Source link

Leave a Comment