Saurashtra, Punjab, Vidarbha make Mushtaq Ali Trophy quarters | Cricket News


KOLKATA: Punjab, Vidarbha and Saurashtra recorded victories over their respective opponents to seal quarter-final berths in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament on Sunday.
Sheldon Jackson top scored for Saurashtra with a 44-ball 64 (4×4, 4×6) as they overcame a late challenge from Kerala to win by nine runs and set up a quarter-final against Mumbai.
Opening the batting, Indian Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara departed to run a ball 11 (2×4) as Saurashtra lost two wickets in the Power Play before Jackson led the charge to take them to 183 for six.
Kerala also got off to a shaky start but captain Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby kept them in the hunt in an entertaining 98-run partnership.
Samson sent off a 38-ball 59 (8×4) but he could not complete the chase and fell to Prerak Mankad (2/26) in the 16th over. Baby remained unbeaten on 64 (47b; 6×4, 2×6) but it was not enough as the Kerala bowlers had their way.
In the first match at Eden Gardens, wicketkeeper-batsman Prabhsimran Singh and opener Abhishek Sharma hit half-centuries as Punjab overcame a shaky 49-run defeat to Haryana that set up their last-eight clash against Karnataka.
Punjab lost their star Indian batsman Shubman Gill (4) in the third over with Mohit Sharma giving Haryana an early breakthrough after opting to field.
But thereafter, Haryana struggled to make further inroads as Sharma settled into the company of Singh in the Power Play and guided them to 176 for seven.
Singh smashed five sixes and five fours en route to a 36-ball 64, while Sharma remained unbeaten on a 48-ball 50 (5×4, 1×6) in a 100-run partnership.
In reply, Haryana were restricted to 172/9 as Punjab put in a disciplined bowling effort with medium pacer Baltej Singh leading the way in a fine display of 4-1-20-3.
Nishant Sindhu led a lone battle for Haryana in a 25-ball 42 but Siddharth Kaul (2/29) caused the collapse before Singh wreaked havoc by taking two in two balls. Haryana further lost five wickets in addition to just four runs to manage just 127/9.
At the second campus ground of Jadavpur University, veteran pacer Umesh Yadav took 3/27 from his four overs as Vidarbha put up a spirited bowling display to defeat Chhattisgarh by five wickets. Vidarbha will now face Delhi in the quarter finals.
Short scores:
At Eden Gardens: Punjab 176/7; 20 overs (Prabhismaran Singh 64, Abhishek Sharma 55 not out; Anshul Kamboj 3/25) b Haryana 127/9; 20 overs (Nishant Sindhu 42; Baltej Singh 3/20, Siddharth Kaul 2/29, Mayank Markande 2/32) with 49 runs.
Saurashtra 183/6; 20 overs (Sheldon Jackson 64; KM Asif 3/33) b Kerala 174/4; 20 overs (Sachin Baby 64, Sanju Samson 59; Prerak Mankad 2/26) with nine runs.
At JU Second Campus Site: Chhattisgarh 111/9; 20 overs (Harpreet Singh 27; Umesh Yadav 3/27, Yash Thakur 2/23) lost to Vidarbha 112/5; 18.4 overs (Sanjay Raghunath 63) with five wickets.
Karnataka vs Punjab; Delhi vs Vidarbha; Himachal Pradesh vs Bengal; Mumbai vs Saurashtra (all on Tuesday).


Source link

Leave a Comment