T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli surpasses Rahul Dravid to become sixth highest run-scorer in international cricket | Cricket News


MELBOURNE: Virat Kohli on Sunday overtook legendary Indian batsman and team’s current head coach Rahul Dravid to become the sixth highest run-scorer in international cricket history.
India’s star batsman hit the landmark during his epic match-winning knock against arch-rivals Pakistan at ICC T20 World Cup at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).
Virat turned back the clock to show shades of his older self, scoring an unbeaten 82 off 53 balls with six fours and four sixes. His knock helped India seal a memorable last-ball victory.

Virat is now ranked sixth among the highest run-scorers in international cricket. Virat has scored 24,212 runs including 71 centuries and 126 half centuries.
Dravid scored 24,208 runs, including 48 centuries and 146 half-centuries.
Most runs in international cricket are scored by legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar (34,357), followed by former Sri Lankan wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakara (28,016), Australia‘s Ricky Ponting (27,483), Sri Lankan batsman Mahela Jayawardene (25,957) and South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis (25,534).
With 160 to win, India were reduced to 31/4 in less than seven overs. From then on, Virat and Hardik set about rebuilding the chase and put up a 113-run stand. Pandya was dismissed for 40 but Virat finished unbeaten to score 82 off 53 balls with six fours and four sixes to guide his side to a four-wicket victory.

India breaks Australia’s record most wins in a calendar year
The win also helped India break Australia’s record for most wins in international cricket in a calendar year.
Australia previously held the record with 38 wins from 47 matches in 2003. India now have 39 wins from 56 matches this year.
India started the year with a home series against West Indies where they whitewashed the visitors 3-0 in both ODIs and T20 matches.
After that, India played a home series against Sri Lanka. They won the T20I series 3-0 and the Test series 2-0.

Following this, Team India played a five-match T20I series at home against South Africa, which was tied 2-2 after the last match was washed out by rain.
The team then toured England to play the one Test remaining, which India lost. However, India recorded ODI and T20I series wins by a similar margin of 2-1.
Ireland were next conquered by the team as India overcame the challenge to win the series 2-0.
West Indies was the next assignment for India as the team reached the Caribbean shores to play a T20I and an ODI series. India won the T20I series 3-0 and sealed the ODI series 4-1.

India then went to Zimbabwe and whitewashed the hosts 3-0 in an ODI series.
The team did play good cricket in the Asia Cup 2022 but failed to cross the Super 4 hurdle and failed to earn a place in the final, which was won by Sri Lanka.
Australia then toured India in the build-up to the T20 World Cup as both teams looked to prepare for the marquee tournament. India bounced back from defeat to clinch the T20I series 2-1.
India then surpassed the Proteas in the ODI and T20I series to equal Australia’s record.


Source link

Leave a Comment