India’s squad for T20 Blind World Cup announced | Cricket News


BENGALURU: Organizers of the third T20 World Cup for the Blind On Friday announced a 17-member India squad, and Yuvraj Singh as brand ambassador of the championship.
The World Cup will be held in India from December 6 to 17. The other participating countries are: Nepal, Bangladesh, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Ajay Kumar Reddy would lead the Indian team, while Venkateswara Rao Dunna (both from Andhra Pradesh) was named vice-captain.

The opening match will be played between defending champions India and Nepal in Faridabad on December 6.
Former India batsman Yuvraj Singh said he was delighted to become the brand ambassador, and urged everyone to support the initiative.
“I applaud and appreciate the spirit of visually impaired cricketers for their passion for cricket and determination to fight everyday challenges,” he said.
The World Cup is an initiative of the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled, which has been organizing this championship since 2012.
Samarthanam’s sports wing, Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI), is affiliated with World Blind Cricket Ltd (WBC).
Samarthanam Founder Managing Trustee and CABI President Mahantesh GK told a press conference here that the selection committee has selected a 17-member Indian team.
Chairman of CABI Selection Committee and CABI General Secretary E John David said the World Cup will play a total of 24 matches across various cities of India including Bengaluru, Kochi, Indore and Cuttack.
India won the World Cup on two previous occasions held in 2012 and 2017.
India Team: Category of players (B1 – totally blind; B2 – partially blind – 2 to 3 meters of sight; B3 – partially sighted – 3 to 6 meters of sight) — Lalit Meena-B1 (Rajasthan), Praveen Kumar Sharma-B1 (Haryana) ) , Sujeet Munda-B1 (Jharkhand), Nilesh Yadav-B1 (Delhi), Sonu Golkar-B1 (Madhya Pradesh), Sovendu Mahata-B1 (West Bengal), I Ajay Kumar Reddy-B2 (Andhra Pradesh), Venkateswara Rao Dunna -B2 (Andhra Pradesh), Nakula Badanayak-B2 (Odisha), Irfan Diwan-B2 (Delhi), Lokesha-B2 (Karnataka), Tompaki Durga Rao-B3 (Andhra Pradesh), Sunil Ramesh-B3 (Karnataka), A Ravi -B3 (Andhra Pradesh), Prakash Jayaramaiah-B3 (Karnataka), Deepak Malik-B3 (Haryana) and Dhinagar G-B3 (Puducherry).


Source link

Leave a Comment