ICC T20 World Cup: Interesting Facts and Trivia | Cricket News


The eighth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has in Australia last Sunday with the qualifying matches, from where four teams will join the top eight in the ‘Super 12’ stage from 22 October.
As the tournament gathers steam leading up to the high-octane showdown between India and Pakistan on October 23, here are some very interesting facts and trivia about the T20 World Cup, which is the biggest stage in the sport’s shortest format .
((All statistics in this article have been updated until the last edition of the T20 World Cup in 2021))
Australia can make history: Hosts Australia have the rare chance to become the first team to successfully defend their T20 World Cup crown.
Two-time champions: The West Indies are the only team to have won the T20 World Cup twice – in 2012 and 2016.
Players who have played in all seven T20 World Cups so far: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim are the six players who have featured in all seven T20 World Cups held so far.

Most appearances in the final: Sri Lanka is the team that has reached the final of a T20 World Cup the most times. They have played three finals so far (2009, 2012, 2014) and won the title once when they defeated India in the summit of the 2014 edition.
Fastest 50: The mention of the fastest half-century in a T20 World Cup immediately brings back the memory of six sixes in a Stuart Broad over by Yuvraj Singh, who still holds the record for the fastest fifty scored in the same innings against England. in the first edition in 2007.
Fastest 100: This record stands in the name of West Indian opener Chris Gayle, who scored a century off just 48 balls against England in a Super 10 Group 1 match in the 2016 edition.
Chris Gayle: Only batsman to score two T20 World Cup hundreds (117 off 57 balls vs SA in 2007 and 100* off 48 balls vs Eng in 2016)
Biggest win by runs: Sri Lanka scored a mammoth 260/6 against Kenya in 2007 and then dismissed the opposition for just 88 runs to record a mammoth 172-run win.

Most runs overall: Former Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene — 1016 runs in 31 matches
Most runs in a single edition: Former India captain Virat Kohli — 319 runs in six matches in the 2014 edition
Most wickets overall: Former Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan — 41 wickets in 31 matches
Most wickets in a single edition: Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga — 16 wickets in 8 matches in the 2021 edition
Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper overall: Former Indian captain MS Dhoni – 32 dismissals (21 catches and 11 stumps)

Highest Team Total: 260/6 by Sri Lanka vs Kenya in 2007
Lowest Team Total: 39 by Netherlands vs Sri Lanka in 2014.


Source link

Leave a Comment