I wish Roger Binny all the best: Former BCCI President Sourav Ganguly | Cricket News


MUMBAI: Sourav Ganguly, the outgoing Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) wanted Roger Inside good luck to be selected as the new BCCI president.
The former Indian captain also said that the new office bearers of BCCI will take the Board of Control for Cricket in India forward.
“I wish Roger (Binny) all the best. The new group will take it forward. The BCCI is in good hands. Indian cricket is strong, so I wish them all the best,” Ganguly said.

Ganguly was earlier not considered for a second term as the BCCI president and was stripped of the post after a BCCI meeting at the Trident on 11 October.
The former cricketer had earlier expressed his thoughts on his tenure as the BCCI president.
“I was the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal for five years. I have been president of BCCI for years. After all these terms you have to leave and go. As an administrator you have to contribute a lot and make things better for the team. If I am a player, who has been there for a long time, understood that. I thoroughly enjoyed my time as an administrator. You can’t play forever and you can’t stay in administration forever,” Ganguly had earlier said at an event.
Ganguly is expected to contest for Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president. The former Indian captain was offered the post of IPL chairman which he denied.

The former Indian captain was the president from 2015 to 2019 before moving to the BCCI. The CAB polls are scheduled to be held on October 31.
Former Indian cricketer Roger Binny was elected as the 36th president of the Indian cricket body, BCCI, in place of Sourav Ganguly on Tuesday.
The 91st Annual General Meeting of the BCCI was held in Mumbai. Notably, Binny was the only candidate to submit a nomination for the top job.
Sourav Ganguly has ended his BCCI president’s term after three long years.
Jay Shah will continue to serve as the BCCI Secretary. Ashish Shelar has been appointed as BCCI treasurer. Rajeev Shukla will be the vice president, while Devajit Saikia will be the joint secretary. Arun Dhumal has been appointed as the IPL chairman.


Source link

Leave a Comment