Roger Binny is elected 36th BCCI president, but questions remain over the ICC chairmanship | Cricket News


MUMBAI: The issue of ICC chairmanship will be on the table when the BCCI holds its Annual General Meeting (AGM), where former India cricketer Roger Inside will replace Sourav Ganguly as the new Board President on Tuesday.
The election of the next set of office bearers will be a mere formality as all will be elected unopposed. However, the members will deliberate whether the BCCI should field a candidate for the ICC chairman or support incumbent Greg Barclay for a second term.
The last date for submitting the nominations for the ICC top job is 20 October. The ICC Council meets from 11 to 13 November in Melbourne.

The much talked about exit of Ganguly from the BCCI has already attracted attention not only in sports but also in political arena and it will be interesting to see if the former captain is considered for the top job.
The other names doing the rounds include Sports Minister Anurag Thakur and former BCCI president N Srinivasan.
Srinivasan is eligible to compete, but it remains to be seen if the BCCI wants him to throw his hat in the ring, considering his age. He is 78.
Thakur is expected to be busy during the ICC board meeting as Himachal Pradesh will vote in a single phase on November 12.
New office bearers
Binny will replace Ganguly as the BCCI chief with the latter returning to his home state association CAB as the president for a second term.
The other BCCI office-bearers, who will be unanimously elected, include secretary Jay Shah, Ashish Shelar (Treasurer), Rajeev Shukla (Vice President) and Devajit Saikia (Joint Secretary). Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal will be the new IPL chairman.
“It is almost certain that Jay will be India’s representative at the ICC Council meeting. But members have to decide whether we want someone to become the ICC chairman or let New Zealand’s Greg Barclay complete his second and final term,” ‘ a senior BCCI official told PTI on condition of anonymity.
ICA Representatives
As per the agenda of the 91st AGM, two representatives of the Indian Cricketers Association will be inducted on the BCCI Apex Council to replace Anshuman Gaikwad and Shantha Rangaswamy.
However, they will only be elected at the ICA elections from 27-29 October.
Current ICA president Ashok Malhotra and former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar are vying to be the association’s male representative on the BCCI Apex Council.
Dhumal will chair the newly formed IPL Board of Control after the BCCI AGM on Tuesday. The date of the IPL auction will be decided while there will also be a discussion on the first WIPL, which the Board plans to hold before the IPL in March.
Five teams will initially be part of the league, but how they will be sold can be decided on Tuesday. The BCCI can sell the teams city-wise based on zones or to big cities with a solid fan base.
There will also be a discussion on the tax liability for the ODI World Cup next year in India. India could lose up to Rs 955 crore if the central government does not waive the tax surcharge on ICC for hosting the event in India.


Source link

Leave a Comment