Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar ‘ineligible’ to vote in MCA polls | Cricket News


MUMBAI: Cricket icons Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar is among the eight former international cricketers who are “ineligible” to vote in the elections of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) on October 20 as they do not have their MCA voter’s identity card in front of the ballot box.
On Friday, Election Officer JS Saharia posted a list of eight former international cricketers – Tendulkar, Gavaskar, Agarkar, Manjrekar, Paras Mhambrey, Wasim Jaffer, Vinod Kambli and Avishkar Salvi – saying that “Following former international cricketers do not have voter’s identity card have not submitted. , therefore hereby declared ineligible to vote.” “It is very unfortunate,” former India batsman Sandeep Patil, who is vying for the MCA president’s post of the Mumbai Cricket group, told TOI.
“(Before leaving for Australia to commentate on TV for the T20 World Cup), Sunil even filled the registration form for former Indian cricketers, but you also have to prepare a voter’s ID card, for which he and some of the others (going to Australia) did not have the time as they were told (about it) at the last minute,” informed Patil.
“Yes, it was not made. Anyway, I couldn’t vote because I’m not in India. I will make it for future reference,” Jaffer, who is currently the batting consultant of the Bangladesh U19 and Bangladesh High Performance Team (‘A’ side), told this newspaper from Dhaka.
Patil, who has been canvassing for votes from former Indian cricketers, requested the MCA election officer whether Gavaskar and other former cricketers who would be busy with international assignments could vote online in the elections, but this request was turned down.
“It was too short a notice for them to do that. They should amend the election rules for that,” said Patil. Overall, 43 former internationals – 25 men and 16 women – were deemed eligible to vote in this much-discussed MCA election by Saharia.


Source link

Leave a Comment